Allmendhubel to Grutschalp

When I was a little girl, my uncle lived in Switzerland. One on visit, my grandmother returned home with the dreaded Swiss outfits. But on another, the gifts were more popular and included a cuckoo clock for my sister. The little bird came out every hour and cheerfully announced the time.

Earlier this month we were in Switzerland and I discovered that when you get high enough into the Alps, say 6,000 feet or so, you can hear the real thing–cuckoo birds. At first I thought that maybe some farmhouse had its windows open and I was hearing a clock.

But one look at the scenery convinced me that it was the real bird.

 

Those three peaks you see there are the most famous in the Bernese Oberland–the area we were based in for far too short a time. From left to right they are the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau and they were our companions as we hiked from Allmendhubel to Grutschalp.

My usual European vacations involves a lot of churches, castles and cathedrals. But not this one. This trip was all about the scenery and the walking.

This particular hike was all downhill.

Another was mostly uphill.

But, funnily enough, they end the same way.

There’s lots more to show and tell, just working out the best sequence.

But here’s one last look–the view from our hotel room in Wengen.

11 Comments

Filed under Travel

11 responses to “Allmendhubel to Grutschalp

  1. AW in Victoria, BC

    Oh! this takes me back, though my 10 yr old hiking buddy and I did not hear cuckoos. . . . really? that same sound? what a delightful moment that must have been! Thanks for the glimpse back.

  2. Lacy Tite

    Love that last picture. Gorgeous!!!

  3. Stunning photos – including the beer! Can’t wait for the rest of the tale!

  4. I wish I lived in London. You get to all these fantastic European vistas and different cultures within a few hours. Here in the U.S., you can drive for three days and it doesn’t seem terribly different than where you started out.

  5. AW–Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It really is the same sound–it’s amazing. Have you been to that area?
    Lacy–The locals call it “the pink time,” except in German.
    DF–My computer is giving me fits, especially in dealing with photos. Hope to have the bugs worked out soon.
    UB–There’s some pretty stunning scenery in the US too–just look back at some of your Manhattan shots. But it can be a long way from point A to point B. I really should stay in the US and see more of the west and the desert. (But I probably won’t.)

  6. Julie

    So glad I checked to see if you were back to your blog. This is one trip I don’t have to envy you about. It was ridiculously lovely, wasn’t it.

  7. So generous of you – the irresistible opportunity to display my ignorance: don’t you have cuckoos in the US of A?

  8. PG–No cuckoos in the U.S. Just like there are no bald eagles, wild turkeys or kangaroos in Europe. 🙂

  9. Elise

    Wow. Wow wow wow. That last photo. WOW.

Leave a Reply

