King Arthur and Me

I think my earliest memory of King Arthur was seeing “The Sword and the Stone” when I was in elementary school. The tale of Arthur and Merlin was a light-hearted introduction into the Athurian legend. As I got older, books followed–The Once and Future King, The Crystal Cave, The Idylls of the King. The movie Camelot was a biggie as well.

Suffice it to say, I adore King Arthur.

A few years ago I traveled to southern England and visited some spots that were key locations in the tales of King Arthur.

This is the Tor of Glastonbury. The Tor was probably once an island, hence its identification with the mysterious Island of Avalon, a place between the worlds, where tradition says that Arthur came to be healed of his wounds and to await his recall in a time of great need. This is the most likely reason for the legend of his grave being found in the abbey ruins below the hill at Glastonbury Abby.

West Door of Great Church & Galliee - click for enlargement

This is reputed to be his grave:

Any how, I’m going back to England next year and one of the places we’re visiting is Tintagel, birthplace of Arthur.

We’re doing trains and backpacks and buses and pubs for 10 days in Devon and Cornwall.

Could anything be better?

11 Comments

Filed under Travel

11 responses to “King Arthur and Me

  1. You. Are. So. LUCKY! That’s my kind of vacation. I’m just finishing Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. You should read it before you go.

  2. i accidently wandered through Tintagel in 2000, and it was magic… we wandered on toward St. Ives, and i’m aching to go back. i’m looking forward to your photos! wheee!

  3. oh, and try the spotted dick with cream. you won’t be sorry…

  4. Julie

    I second and third the “Wolf Hall” recommendation. After all, what is that birthday Kindle for?
    And as for Camelot? Now that is real and true magic!

  5. Niece Whit

    Yes, taking me would be much better!!!! J/k Enjoy!!!

  6. Oh, I am jealous. I love that you love Arthurian legend.

  7. I always loved the Arthur legends too. I miss that side of the UK, the pagan legends, magic and strange prehistoric monuments. Here in Spain, it’s all saints’ wrinkled body parts in a glass jar 😦

  8. UB–I’m sure you’ll get back to England. I downloaded Wolf Hall and it’s up next on the Kindle.
    DF–Did you like St. Ives? What else was worth seeing? Email me!
    Julie–Exactly! I’m looking forward to the book.
    Whit–Nice try.
    Rass–I love that you love that I love. KumBaYas for everyone!
    PG–That’s what I adore about England. Just so much packed into that little space.

  9. That is so cool! I love seeing historic places like that!

  10. Devon is beautiful, I spent many childhood holidays there and usually the weather is quite good compared to the rest of England. You need to make sure you have a Devonshire Cream Tea while you’re there – scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream. I don’t even know if you have clotted cream there but it is, quite frankly, the epitome of artery-hardening, delicious awesomeness.

  11. I couldn’t help but think of Excalibur as I read this post. It made me feel very uncomfortable. 😉

Leave a Reply

