I Broke Up with My Oncologist Today

He wasn’t sure about it at first. I could tell he was reluctant to release me, even though I’ve only seen him once a year for the past several years.

In the beginning, it was every other week for treatment. Then once a month, once every three months, twice a year. My visits now are few and far between and when I saw him today, I asked for a release.

“You know that you’re at a higher risk for non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, right?”

I assured him that I was.

“How often do you see Dr. Howard ?” (my primary care physician)

Every year for a  physical, plus a mammogram, I told him.

“Will you get promise me that you’ll get Dr. Howard to draw blood every year and check your counts?

Of course I will.

“Will you call me if there’s anything strange, or if you have any lumps or bumps?’

Not only will I call you, I’ll stalk you.

I know you will, you’re a good patient and you’ve done great.”

Ahhhh…..he’s wearing down.

“But how will I keep up with you if I don’t see you? Oh, I know, Facebook.”

Are you on Facebook? I’ll friend you tonight.”

“No, I’m not on it yet…I’ll have to read your blog.”

So if you’re reading Dr. M., here’s what I’d like you to know…

You and your staff always made me feel better, even when I didn’t think I could feel any worse. Your office was the place I could go and not have everyone stare at me like I was some kind of alien baby. Y’all were kind and supportive and, strangely enough, once my treatment was over I missed you all.

I don’t know why anyone would go into oncology, but I’m glad you did.

15 Comments

Filed under Cancer

15 responses to “I Broke Up with My Oncologist Today

  1. lashlee

    He just wasn’t that into you anyway. You are better off without him. Ha! Love you!

  2. Walking away with your head held high!

    FIST PUMP!!!

    Congratulations!

  3. He went into oncology for moments like this one.

  4. the day will come when i break up with my oncologist… we’ve stopped seeing each other quarterly, and are now just catching up casually over bloodwork and vacation stories in january and june.

    it will be with mixed emotions that i say “buh-BYE”, but i will. but i swear, i won’t do it as eloquently as you have, Ms. Franklin!

    Onwards!

  5. Congrats.

    Did you tell him, “It’s not you, it’s me.”???

    Wishing you continued good health and zero cancer.

  6. In this case, breaking up is not so hard to do. Congratulations. I didn’t know this about you but now I know why your words and your life seem to leap off the page.

  7. This one made me cry a little bit, Franklin. Good job.

    My Mom and her oncologist are getting kinky. She’s gone in for shots to the butt. One in each cheek. For balance. It will be a monthly affair.

  8. Lash–And to think I gave him the best 8 years of my life. 🙂
    Merry–Many thanks. Head held high, but a lump in the throat too.
    UB–You know, I had to wait an unusually long time. I texted husband to complain and he replied that I should remember that he might be with someone whose world was crashing down. Perspective.
    DF–How funny–we’re exactly the same, comparing vacays! I even helped him plan a trip to Paris. And I 100% understand the mixed emotions.
    FF–I swear I thought about as I was rehearsing in my head.
    ZM–It’s a little hard. And thank you for the kind words. You check out the cancer category and learn more.
    Ellie–Awww, thanks. Sending many good wishes your mother’s way. Are the shots to keep her blood counts up? Hated those–husband had to give them to me nightly!

  9. Not for blood counts. The hormone suppressing medications aren’t as effective so they are using something to ‘kill’ the cancer receptors. Something like that. Thanks for the good thoughts! x

  10. Julie

    What a class act you are, lady! I’ll just bet your old flame misses you. . .and is glad to do so.

  11. It’s so nice to have a good doctor! But even nicer when you get the chance to say goodbye.

  12. Excellent news! He sounds like the ideal doc. But I hope you never have to go back.

  13. Gwen Jackson

    I, for one, am just thrilled you don’t NEED your oncologist anymore. You were too good for him anyway.

  14. It’s sad, but sometimes you grow out of the things you had in common 🙂

  15. Elise

    I love reading news this wonderful so early in the morning.

    Congratulations, HIF. Onward and upward. 🙂

Leave a Reply

