Farmer’s Markets–There and Here

I wish that I had not relied on others to take pictures in the past. I didn’t get my little camera until right before our trip to Japan last fall. One place in particular I wish now that I’d had a camera is the Richard Lenoir street market in Paris. If I had, you would’ve seen scenes like these:

0511271033.JPG

0511270062.JPG

0511271018.JPG

Now that I have my trusty little camera, I can subject you to my less-than-stellar efforts. Nevertheless, here are shots from the local farmer’s market.

Can I just say that it’s really hot here right now? It’s been over 90 for the last week, and it’s predicted to be the same for the next week. Don’t let the outfits fool you–these folks charge a fortune for their fabulous heirloom tomatoes.

All the stuff at this market is organic and grown or made from within 100 miles.

And here tomorrow’s dessert–blackberry cobbler.

If you have a quart of your own blackberries–try this:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Mix a quart of blackberries (or fresh sliced peaches) with 1/2 C sugar and set aside

Melt one stick butter in 2 quart baking dish

Combine the following:

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup milk

Pour this over the melted butter–do not stir

Spoon fruit on top and bake for 1 hour.

8 Comments

Filed under At Home, Food/Cooking, Travel

8 responses to “Farmer’s Markets–There and Here

  1. I am helpless in the kitchen but will pass this on to Mrs. Wife who has some major skills.

  2. Oh, man. I might just have to try this. But the freakish oven in my rented flat scares me. It gets super duper hot (hotter than the temperature says). I might have to set it to 12 degrees. 😉

  3. I have the same trouble as Ellie. My oven ignores the dial and chooses its own temperature. Bastard.

  4. Open to misinterpretation, but those French tarts look mouthwatering.

  5. Pingback: Make the Most of Summer « Here In Franklin's Table

  6. I am sooooooo making that Blackberry shit TONIGHT.

  7. Rass–let me know how it turns out.

  8. seething with jealously over those blackberries. They are hard to come by here – well, not really, but you have to pay about seven bucks a pint. I love the markets here, but rarely do I make it to them, since they are only open in the morning and the only day I can go is Saturday, but not if I sleep in.

Leave a Reply

