It’s a Tourist Kind of Town

Every so often you stumble across a blog that just resonates with you. It becomes a daily read and you’re disappointed when the blogger goes too long without posting. For me, one of those bloggers is Ellie over at The Daily Smoke. Ellie’s an American living in London and her blog entries feature her own beautiful black and white photography. I picture Ellie and her significant other (she refers to him as My Man) as living in a very elegant, very posh house. Remember the house that Hugh Grant’s sister lived in in Notting Hill…all white and pristine? That’s where I picture Ellie.

The point of all this is that every day Ellie walks or rides or jogs past some of London’s most recognizable and historic sights. It makes me wonder about living in town that’s full of tourists walking around with their cameras and guidebooks and maps.

And then I remembered that I do live in a town like that.

No…I’m not comparing Franklin (founded in 1799) with London (founded A.D. 43). But tourism is our No. 1 industry. You see the people from out-of-town wandering down the streets, taking self-guided walking tours or shopping for antiques. They take pictures of the antebellum homes and think about Scarlett O’Hara and the Civil War and wonder about hoop skirts and belles. You have to remember not to honk at them when they’re gawking because they are spending money in your town.

I would love to be a tour guide. I would love taking people around town and telling them my stories. Or stories that I’ve heard from others. And I might make up a few too.

Oh…there’s a ghost of a Confederate soldier that haunts that house over there…the Yankees cut off his left arm and he bled to death in the dining room.

Look…see that big oak tree over there? That’s the hanging tree…16 men died on that branch right there.

That brick house on the corner…the one with the big porch…there’s a legend that there’s a secret room where the family hid all their valuables during the war. They all died and no one has ever found the room.

See…wouldn’t that be an interesting tour? How much would you pay? And best of all, it would be different every day, so you could take it again and again.

If you want a personal–but not necessarily factual–tour of Franklin, let me know. Why let the truth get in the way of a good story?

8 Comments

Filed under At Home, Travel

8 responses to “It’s a Tourist Kind of Town

  1. Best walking tour ever: The Jack the Ripper tour in London. It is truly creepy. And I don’t creep easily. I wasn’t aware of the specifics of his crimes until that tour.

  2. You should totally do that. Or like you mentioned on Ellie’s blog, just start going up to tourists. Every once in awhile you’ll get a tourist like me that will want nothing more than to listen to stories from random, awesome people they just met on the street.

  3. Kimmer

    I feel about your post the way you feel about Ellie’s. Nothing like a good cup of coffee and my favorite blog to start off my morning!

    And I will say that there wouldn’t be a more perfect tour guide than you. I’d slap a Benjamin down to take that tour! (Though don’t look for that too soon… you know we’re still in a recession.)
    🙂

  4. Town tours are always awesome no matter how old the history. I think you wold do a fine job, and I would be all eyes and ears.

  5. Little Sister

    Thats an awesome idea! You were a great tour guide on another continent, so you would get rich showing folks around Franklin. I will be your accountant.

  6. What a remarkable compliment and coming from such a spinner of yarns! Thanks for that.

    Being a guide is a dream job! Walking (hurray for walking!), imparting ‘knowledge’ (yes, fiction is knowledge too!), and making money. Woohoo!

    Did you really do this type of work elsewhere? Where and when!?

  7. UB–I really don’t like scary things, so I’ll skip the Ripper tour. I have to change the channel when ads for scary movies come on.
    Rassles–Come on down…I’ll practice on you.
    Kimmer–For most people it would cost waaaay more than a Benjamin…but for you, we’ll work a deal.
    NATUI–Thanks. Husband and I have often thought it would be a great job…just no $$.
    Little Sister–I didn’t know you were an accountant. But I think your math skills are much better than mine.
    Ellie–You’re very welcome. My sister is referring to a trip we took to Paris. It was her first time, so I was her tour guide.

  8. Julie Fisher

    I know it’s kind of late to be responding to this one, Cindy, but I just got back into town and was reading the posts that I’ve missed.
    Comment on this one: I do believe that you and I both know of a famous personality around here who can tell just such great stories about our town.

Leave a Reply

