The things I’ll miss…the things I won’t

This time tomorrow I’ll be on my way to Manchester, England with two other adults and 8 kids, all 17 years old. We’ll be gone 12 days and I really should be packing right now. But I couldn’t resist the idea of a list.

Here goes.

What I’ll Miss

  1. Husband, of course. Especially since he’s been in Buenos Aires since last Wednesday. His plane lands in Nashville 5 minutes after mine takes off.
  2. Privacy. We’re staying at retreat houses for the most part and that means shared bathrooms in some cases. I do have my own room though for most of the time.
  3. Large diet cokes with lime from Sonic.
  4. Ice. I’ve given up trying to figure out why they think it’s so damned valuable.
  5. The U.S. Open golf tournament…really want to see Tiger tame on Bethpage Black like he did a few years ago.
  6. TV in general.
  7. Cooking. I really like to cook. Maybe some of the places will let me help.
  8. Connectivity…no more 24-hour access, though there may be a blog or two.

What I Won’t Miss

  1. Work. Not for a single second.
  2. The 95 degree heat that’s predicted for Nashville tomorrow
  3. Driving
  4. Worrying about what to pack…that’ll all be done
  5. Finding random piles of feathers and entrails courtesy of the cat
  6. Did I mention the heat?

And If, Perchance, You’re Missing Me….check  out our Pilgrim’s blog.

15 Comments

Filed under Travel

15 responses to “The things I’ll miss…the things I won’t

  1. EIGHT 17 year olds?

    I can’t cope with one…

    I hope you survive.

  2. No Sonic? Refuse to go. Put your foot down. But if you choose to go, have a great time.

  3. Magneto–welcome to Franklin. (And thanks for your e-mail.) They\’ll be on their best behavior.

    Dingo–Is it wrong to be addicted to Sonic drinks?

  4. Kimmer

    WHAT I WILL MISS: My Big Orange chats with Cindy T because there are only eighty-three days until kickoff. I’ll keep of list of any happenings until you get back. Have fun….I’ll miss you!!!

  5. Julie Fisher

    Well, shoot! I’ll miss YOU.

  6. Hope you have a blast!

  7. I am entirely with you on the missed lists items 2 and 3.

  8. I can shed some light on the ice thing.

    Some english people, well, they’re cheap. there’s no other way to put it. They don’t want tons of ice in their drinks because it waters them down/means you get less of your actual drink in the glass.

    Personally, I like ice.

    I hope you have a great trip!

  9. “His plane lands in Nashville 5 minutes after mine takes off.”

    Wow, that blows . . .

    Have fun!

  10. You can’t get ice over there? Or TV? Really? That sucks. I hope you have fun. Be safe and don’t fall for any scams 🙂

  11. Bon voyage. I’m out of my mind with envy. I love the UK. I’d even go with eight kids crawling up my back.

  12. Ice. I’ve given up trying to figure out why y’all think it’s so damned important!

    Seriously, after living in ice scarce Britain for four years, I just don’t see the point anymore. Takes up valuable room in the glass. Ice is a scam.

    Enjoy the trip!

  13. Oh, no; I’m too late … maybe you’re reading the Internet at some points in your trip … maybe you can come to the Smoke and we can shake the secret handshake bloggers use when they meet up in flesh & blood! Maybe you can meet my hero, the Manchester based Tired Dad. xx e

  14. And you will miss me, and I will miss you, even though I’m all behind on my blogs and playing catch up and just got to you now and you’re prolly already there, in which case have a bliggity blast.

  15. Blues (three weeks ago): Hey Hereinfranklin, I hope you have an awesome time on your trip.

    Hereinfranklin: Thanks blues for showing up to wish me well.

    Blues: Hey Hereinfranklin, how was your trip?

    Hereinfranklin: Hey blues, thanks for asking…

Leave a Reply

