The Envelope Please

Several months ago I submitted Here in Franklin to a site that reviews blogs. The name of the site is Ask and Ye Shall Recieve.

Isn’t that a nice name? Almost biblical. Sort of like an online Make a Wish Foundation.

HA!

Nothing could be further from the truth. When you click on the site, notice the name in your browser window. Yep–they have no qualms about ripping your blog to shreds. And once the reviewer gets done, she (or he) throws the unfortunate carcass to the wolves to complete the virtual scalping. Only in this case the wolves are the commenters. They rip at the submitted blog and then, if they’re still hungry, turn on each other.

It’s not for the faint of heart–or the easily shocked. The commenters are scatalogical and, at times, downright nasty. And funny as hell. Nothing is scared–except good writing.

The reviewers at this site know good writing. They appreciate a well-told story. In all but the most hopeless cases, they offer positive criticism.

I figured that my time was getting close. Two blogs that I read regularly had been reviewed and I was shocked by their scores (there’s a star system, among other ratings).

Yesterday it was finally my turn. I skimmed the page, resisting the urge to peek at the bottom.

But there it was…the coveted IFLY. (I warned you).

Trust me…this is a good thing.

You know what else it good? My blog statistics…off the charts yesterday.

18 Comments

Filed under General Frippery

18 responses to “The Envelope Please

  1. Way to go! That’s a rare score, trust me. I got only two stars when I submitted about a year ago. They are honest, I’ll give them that.

    Again, congrats. And welcome to all your new readers . . .

  2. I knew you would get a stellar review. Didn’t I tell you? Wear your IFLY with pride.

  3. Lil

    I added you to my reader based on their review and my subsequent visit to your blog. They’re hard to please but they certainly know their stuff. Anytime someone gets an IFLY, it’s pretty much guaranteed to be a great blog. Good job and thanks for writing good stuff. 🙂

  4. That’s cause you kick ass.

  5. Congratulations!!! There’s nothing like that exhalation when you get to the end of the review.

    And you deserve every new reader you get out of it.

  6. Congrats! I saw this on AAYSR this morning. It’s the first time I saw a blog that I actively read reviewed. Those guys don’t kid around. They could have ripped you a new one.

  7. Niece Lash

    You do definitely kick some serious ass. Well done Tante!

  8. Mother

    she really received a fabulous review – check it out and just disregard some of the adjectives

  9. I got a ‘Meh’, and I was freakin stoked! I was fully expecting the short bus or flaming finger.

    Your review was a very positive and well deserved one, because we totally DO FLY! <—thats Fu**ing love you btw.

  10. Thanks to you all…and Mother, you are hysterical.

  11. Hooray for you! But you submitted your own blog? I wouldn’t have the guts and I wouldn’t be able to read the review.

  12. Congrats! I found you through that review as well. The above posters are right, this is a rare rating! I wanted it too but unfortunately I didn’t get it. I did get 3 stars and a weird little pink duck though, so it wasn’t all bad! 🙂

    Subscribed, so you’ll hear more from me I’m sure!

  13. Dingo–yes, submitted myself. That’s the way it works there.
    Breigh–welcome to Franklin…I look forward to learning about your life in Holland as well.

  14. Congrats! You deserve it, even though I differ pretty strongly with you on the commentators. I think it’s a bit much, really. But regardless, well done.

  15. Julie Fisher

    And you yourself rate even better than that. Maybe that’s what it takes after all to create a great blog.

  16. wow!! congrats! i’m so proud. keepin’ me motivated.

  17. sherwoodisland

    Yo, Cindy! That is awesome.

  18. Ya, I was so glad you got the rating you did! Sometimes good blogs fall victim to the reviewers’ personal whims. But at least they usually say so when that’s the reason. Way to suck it up and submit. Go balls!

Leave a Reply

