The 30-hour Famine.

I’ve worked with the youth at my church for going on ten years. For the most part, they drive me crazy. You can tell them 42 times–in person, by text, by im, by email and even smoke signal–what time an event starts and they’ll still be late–claiming “they didn’t know.” You can give them an itemized list (delivered by the methods described above) of what they need to bring to said event and they’ll show up without a crucial piece of gear because “they didn’t know.” They talk when they should listen. They go mute when they should be talking.

But once a year this group pulls together and does enough good to make up for all the little irritants.

They participate in World Vision’s 30-hour Famine. For four weeks they get up in front of the congregation at 3 services each Sunday and explain what they’re doing and why. Then they stand at the back of the church after services and ask for donations. Lunch tomorrow (Friday the 27th) will be their last meal until Saturday night. They will travel to a rural mountain camp and do service projects for the needy community up there–fasting not only from food, but from their lives as well. No cell phones. No iPods. No tv.

The great thing is, they really have made a difference. In the past 11 years, they’ve raised over $80,000. When you consider that World Vision can feed a child for just one dollar a day, they’ve saved untold lives.

These kids truly believe that they have the power to make poverty history. They feel that their generation will be the one to make some real changes. They’re off to a great start.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The 30-hour Famine.

  1. I love the 30 hour famine idea and the fact that these young people are willing to make a sacrifice like that. That is a big deal for a teenager, with their crazy fast metabolisms! And their over-attachment, or dare I say addiction, to electronics! I starved myself regularly in high school, but for all the wrong damn reasons. I wish I could go back in time and use that time of my life to help others and get involved in such important projects. I know I talk negatively about organized religion in my blog an awful lot but it’s mostly because of my negative experiences growing up. It certainly seems like your church is doing some important work, not only for the world, but in molding conscientious young minds. And you’re a big part of that, too! I wanted to thank you for your kind comments regarding my blog on AAYSR. I really appreciate the positive feedback from such an accomplished and gifted writer. It’s an honor, really. I feel like I know some of the blog-writers than I do my closest friends. Blogging really is an incredible way to connect with people. I’m so glad I found your blog.

  2. That’s a great fundraiser. I’m actually more impressed that teens will voluntarily go without their gadgets for a good cause!

  3. well they haven’t given up their gadgets yet … I’ll record the moans and groans when they arrive at church later today 🙂

    $80,000 in the 11 years ….

  4. World Vision is a classy organization. I sponsored a child through them once a very long time ago . . . or was that Compassion International. I can’t remember.

    Anyway, give them all a big high five for effort. Kids are cool . . .

  5. Gwen–there’s plenty wrong with organized religion.
    AFreeMan–Heck, I don’t want to give up my gadgets.
    Sally–I’ll correct the $$ amount.
    Tysdaddy–World Vision gets it right.

Leave a Reply

