Post No. 100

I started this blog back in April, not really knowing what I was getting myself into. At first I posted 3 or 4 times a week. That’s decreased and now I’m aiming for quality, not quantity. Except for today. I keep thinking I should have something profound to say about world events. Or something funny to say about things that piss me off. But I’m just not feeling it.

There’s just too much pressure to make post No. 100 the best ever. It’s like being the starting quarterback in Sunday’s Super Bowl. Or Tiger Woods as he’s standing over a 20 foot putt to win the Masters. Yeah–it’s just like that!

When I first got into blogging, I had no idea what I was doing. I broke what is for some people a cardinal rule–I’m not anonymous. One of my first readers was my 84-year-old mother. As I picked up more readers and commenters, that led to conversations like this:

Mother: Who is that Rassles boy who comments on your blog?

Me: Rassles is a girl.

Mother: A girl? Well I clicked on her blog and her language is not very nice.

Me: She’s really funny (especially when she drunk blogs), but you probably shouldn’t read her blog.

Mother:  Are you sure he’s not a boy? That language is not nice at all.

Me: I’m sure. She’s from Chicago.

Mother. Ohhhhhh (said with a deep, old-fashioned Southern accent–about four syllables)

The blogosphere is an interesting place. In sci-fi books and movies of the past the protagonists could often tele-trasport themselves with a blink of an eye–or a “Beam me up, Scotty.” Blogging is kind of like that. I can go check in on (virtual) friends with a simple click. I visit Spain and Australia on a regular basis. They visit Franklin. Sometimes I’ll notice an incoming link in my statistics and find that a complete stranger has put a link on their blog to mine. It’s quite gratifying.

Blogging about blogging is a little bit like reporters interviewing each other during the inauguration. It’s self-serving and not all that interesting to anyone but the people directly involved.

So forgive me this indulgence. And thank you for reading.

 

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Post No. 100

  1. Hee hee hee.

    Tell your mother I apologize for my offense. But among my friends, my language is tame. And I am very much a girl.

  2. donnadawn

    I love visiting your blog, oh lovely one. How is vestry retirement, by the way?

  3. Cindy, congratulations on post #100. I think you run a really good show here at Here in Franklin. Mom and I often talk about what a good writer you are.

  4. Niece Lash

    You are a good writer. I laugh out loud every time. The dialougue b/t you and K-Momma is priceless. Very much like her. Congrats!

  5. Niece Whit

    Congrats Tante Cindy! I check everyday hoping to find something new and funny to get me through the day! 🙂 Maybe I should start reading Rassles!

  6. Congrats on the big 100! I like your Mom.

  7. Julie

    Wow Aunt Cindy – the big 5-0 and the big 100 all within a couple of months of each other! You should be proud of both! I too tune in daily for my evening chuckle! Keep it up…

  8. Julie Fisher

    How about 365-a-year unpolished blogs full of Cindy’s wit. I vote for that! In fact is there really such a thing as polished wit? Maybe only in England.
    Great for all of us that you are doing this. And a big thank you from me.

  9. If my grandma ever read my blog, well, that would be embarrassing.

    Congrats, my friend.

  10. I’m sort of anonymous in that my last name doesn’t appear on my blog… but my mom reads my blog too. Sometimes I’ll be telling her a story and she’ll say “Oh yeah, I saw that on your blog.”

  11. Everyone–many thanks. I’ve learned a lot from my fellow bloggers and enjoy all your scribblings as well. I appreciate everyone’s comments–especially Julie F. who holds the record for most comments. And I think this is the first time to have 3 nieces at once. DD–it was fun, but 3 years is enough!

  12. Congrats on Post #100…says one of the anonymous links who found you while blog-surfing one night. 🙂

    and you can never go wrong with the ‘quality not quantity’ rule…

  13. Congratulations! Have fun with the next hundred!

    (And Mom’s right – that Rassles dude should wash his filthy mouth out with soap.)

  14. Thistle and Ginny–welcome to Franklin and thanks for reading. Have a great Friday!

  15. Amy

    Cindy-
    Congratulations, I’ve been following the blog for the past few months and have thoroughly enjoyed your writing!
    Blessings to you!
    ~Amy

  16. I love my visits to Franklin.

    Lookin forward to 100 more at least.

  17. 100 posts … I have 3! Congratulations, and thank you for your retrospective. It’s very helpful to a new blogger.

    Anonymity … it’s a tough one …

  18. I’m not anonymous either. I guess I don’t really care if people I know read what I write. I’m pretty open like that, I guess. For what it’s worth I think Blog 100 is amazing.

  19. I will sometimes tell my mom about a post I’ve written, I tell her it’s on my “super secret blog”. Sadly, more people read my super secret blog than do my family blog for family members. Actually, I guess it isn’t sad. I didn’t cover my ass for nothing.

Leave a Reply

