For Your Holiday Viewing Pleasure

A few days ago I saw a commercial promoting the upcoming DVD release of the movie Wanted . According to the announcer, Wanted would be herejust in time for the holidays.” 

Somehow a movie described as having “strong bloody violence throughout, pervasive language and some sexuality” just doesn’t say “peace on earth, goodwill to men” to me.

For the last few years, I’ve had a hard time dealing with all the secular distractions during this sacred time. I think it started when we took  a last minute trip to Ireland in December a few years ago. (I know that you’re thinking “who goes to Ireland in December,” but it was great.) As we waited for our plane to leave Nashville, the song Frosty the Snowman played over and over. As we taxied in New York,  it came on again. Over and over. To this day, I can’t hear that song without tasting a little Guinness in the back of my throat.

Today Frosty and his ilk of “Christmas” songs drive me crazy. And the same goes for “Christmas” movies. Like the incessant Lifetime remakes of Dicken’s “A Christmas Carol” starring soap opera stars. Or the one with the little boy who gets his tongue stuck on the flagpole.

But the other night I saw my favorite Christmas movie of all time…The Bishop’s Wife. This movie was made in 1947 and it stars Cary Grant, David Niven and Loretta Young. David Niven is an Episcopal bishop who is trying to raise money to have a large cathedral built. Loretta Young is his wife. And Cary Grant is the angel Dudley who comes to earth to help them.

It’s just everything a Christmas movie should be–hopeful, joyous and fun. With a little magic on the side.

If you’re a Comcast customer, you can watch it for free On Demand–under the comedy category in free movies. (Gosh I hate giving Comcast a plug.)

I hope that you’ll watch this movie. I know that for most people It’s a Wonderful Life is the quintessential Christmas movie. But nothing rings my silver bells quite like The Bishop’s Wife.

I hope you like it.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “For Your Holiday Viewing Pleasure

  1. I LOVE The Bishop’s Wife. Love it. It makes me tingly.

  2. I agree that Christmas isn’t so Christmas-y anymore.

    I’ve never seen The Bishops Wife. Maybe I should check it out this year!

  3. Julie Fisher

    There’s always “A Charlie Brown Christmas”, and the music is soooo hip.

  4. We saw “Four Christmases” (entitled “Four Holidays” in Oz) the other day and I would have rather seen “Wanted”, “The Bishop’s Wife”, or nearly anything else.

  5. Ummm…so as much as I hate to say I appreciate the Comcast plug…I’m glad you made it, cause, now I know I can watch the flick.

    And I’m well…how are you?

  6. hmmm…not familiar with the Bishop’s Wife that i remember altho i may have seen it and just don’t remember. I’ll keep an eye out for it.

    and Ireland?…any time of year, never mind December…deeply envious i am….

  7. Watch this one before you watch the remake with Whitney Houston. Please?

    Loretta Young looks like Christmas.

    One of my favorite, more obscure Christmas movies is The Man Who Came To Dinner and it’s coming on TCM in the next couple weeks. Got the dvr set!

  8. 5yDjoH Thanks for good post

Leave a Reply

