Real Housewives of Atlanta–Could This Be the Tackiest TV Show Ever?

My addiction to cheesy reality tv is well documented. I fully admit it. It’s a character flaw that I’ve learned to live with. One I try to counter-balance by watching instructional shows like Iron Chef or What Not To Wear.

So I’m totally excited that the next installment of Bravo’s Real Housewives franchise is debuting Oct. 7 — one week from tomorrow. In this series, we follow around a group of 5 “housewives” as they do ordinary things like pick out new fringe for their pillows or shop for art to match their furniture. First, it was a group from Orange County. Then New York City. And, now it’s The Real Housewives of Atlanta.

At first glance, you have to wonder exactly what about these women is “real.” Because I’m here to tell you that there’s more than a few silicone implants in this crowd. (And don’t you always love the image of the big, honking cross nestled inbetween the fake boobs?) It’s like shouting “I can wear my dress as low cut as I want because I’m religious.” (Like Jimmy Buffet says, there’s a fine line between Saturday night and Sunday morning.)

Not really sure how much of that hair is real either, especially on Kim, the country music star wanna be. Note to Kim: didn’t realize that Atlanta was a hotbed of country music…you might want to consider a relo to Nashville. And I’m guessing that the nails, eyeliner and noses aren’t completely real either.

But the main thing thing that isn’t “real” is the idea that these women are housewives. Heck–two of them aren’t even married. Two are married to professional athletes and the other’s husband is a real estate investor. All of them are described as living in elite or upscale communities. Still looking for the “real” here.

But even if they aren’t “real,” they are “classy.” It’s on the web site so it must be true. I’m running through a mental list of all the “classy”  women I know–looking for just one who wears a big gaudy cross in her décolletage. Not finding one.

In all fairness, I am judging these women on pictures, promos and brief bios. For all I know, they might be the most down-to-earth, humblest women in Atlanta.

Right. And I’m Mother Teresa. And I will be watching.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Real Housewives of Atlanta–Could This Be the Tackiest TV Show Ever?

  1. Julie Fisher

    What channel is this? I think I am definitely inspired to check out this program. Sounds a lot better than Lawrence Welk on channel 8 AGAIN. Now as to that cross placement, Cindy, you know they say God is everywhere. I just keep hoping God has a tremendous sense of humor. I figure we’re not saved by grace as much as by the possibility of God’s sense of humor.

  2. This is wonderful news. My friends love those shows. I will tell them immediately to clear their schedules!

    Classy, eh? I’ll be the judge of that.

  3. Working Woman

    Those ladies “complete” me!

  4. little sister

    Could you please explain what working woman means by her commnet!!!

  5. hereinfranklin

    I was going to ask you the same thing. She’ll have to explain it herself. Working Woman, give us a clue.

  6. Older Sister

    Have you forwarded this to your nephew in Atlanta for his comments???

  7. Read my latest article at absurdtosublime.blogspot.com
    Wonder which category these women belong to?

  8. It’s been a few years now since I was in the ATL but it doesn’t sound like things have changed much by your description of this show. In my day, you couldn’t walk through Buckhead without bouncing off a few of these gals.

    Thanks for your visit to my site and your comments? My alma mater has a big game coming up with your Vols next weekend!

  9. Robbi

    Aw, now I’ve got another tacky show to watch. Gotta love it 🙂 Is it as good as Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders: Making the Team? (that’s my guilty TV pleasure)

  10. bonnie

    OK, I must admit – I watched this show last night and I think my mouth was open the entire time in amazement. Hearing one of the women speak about all the “house staff” she NEEDS in her Mc-mansion disgusted me. Alas, I watched the entire thing, much to my husbands horror and will probably watch the next one as well 🙂

  11. hereinfranklin

    Bonnie–and what about the Louis Vuitton purse for the 11 year old? Wonder how much that little party cost? And the other one hiring the “estate manager” is outrageous–I bet she doesn’t even have one acre.

  12. sasha

    I love to watching all the Real Housewives shows. I like seeing how other people so call live. Lisa is by far my favorite she seems down to earth hardworking and sincere. Something about Kim is so fake. NeNe is just being herself. Deshawn well she is living the life seems to waste a lot of money with a estate manager, governess, nanny, chef. She and her husband are very young would not hurt to save save save save save save. Sheree could be a little less errogant.

Leave a Reply

