For the Parrotheads

If you don’t know what a Parrothead is, then you aren’t one. And there’s nothing wrong with that, it just means that you aren’t a Jimmy Buffet fan.

Last night his songs kept popping up on my iPod, even though it was on shuffle. I took it as some sort of cosmic sign that a JB blog entry was called for.

So, I decided to list my fave JB lyrics. Here they are, in no particular order. I hope that you’ll comment back with your own.

1.  Give me oysters and beer, for dinner every day for a year, and I’ll be fine.  “Tin Cup Chalice,” A1A

2  Lava come down soft and hot. You better lava me now or lava me not. “Volcano’Volcano

3. I like mine with lettuce and tomato, Heinz 57 and french fried potatoes, big kosher pickle and a cold draft beer, well good God almighty which way do I steer? “Cheeseburger in Paradise,” Son of a Son of a Sailor

4. There’s a thin line between Saturday night and Sunday morning. “Fruitcakes,” Fruitcakes

5. And that’s when I first saw the bear. He was a Kodiak lookin’ fella `bout nineteen feet tall. “God’s Own Drunk,” Living and Dying in 3/4 Time

6. It’s time to close the shutters. It’s time to go inside. In a week I’ll be in gay Paris; That’s a mighty long airplane ride. “Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season,” AIA

7. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it. That’s my life and all that I’ve got.
Call me a liar, call me a writer…Believe me or not. “That’s My Story and I’m Sticking to It.” Off to See the Lizard

So there’s a sample off the top of my head. I know I’ve left out tons. Enjoy the videos.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “For the Parrotheads

  1. karen a

    You left out the most important word in #3- BEER!!

    That said- “I’m just watching the Gong Show, waiting for Zorro…..” from Miss You So Badly (Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes)

  2. hereinfranklin

    LOL and thanks for the heads up–it is now corrected!

  3. UT Yankee

    Did you know Jimmy sells out more shows in Cincinnati. Parrothead items are now available in stores here year round.

    Fins to the Right
    Pat

  4. Beck

    “It’s 5 o’clock Somewhere”

  5. little sister

    They send you off to college to try to gain
    a little knowledge,
    But all you want to do is learn how to score……….
    ….PENCIL THIN MUSTACHE…..
    one of my faves, and it didnt help me much in college!!!

  6. Amy

    I happened to pop over here from Camerons blog, and I am so happy I did. My husband and I have been Buffett fans for YEARS!! We’ve been called Parrotheads, we carry it with pride, thank you. It amazes me that he still sells out so fast. And to boot, he sells out to families, generations go to see him, we are taking our kids (they’re are teenagers and oddly enough like Jimmy also). We’ll probably strap a volcano to the minivan, grab some fins, grass skirts, and virgin margaritas!! It’ll be fun.

    As for my husband and I as a couple, our song is “Why Don’t We Get Drunk “, he’s a real romantic *rolling eyes*. My kids love “Cheeseburger” and “Jolly Mon”. For me personally, I’m torn between “Come Monday”, and
    “Coconut Telegraph”, “Fins”, “Son of a Son of a Sailor”, and “Gypsies in the Palace”, ooooh and the new duet with Martina McBride…OK I can’t decide!! I’ll go pour me some red wine, in my tin cup and give a listen to my collection by the pool. I’m sure if I had a beach nearby, that would definately help me come to a final conclusion. It’s so fun to connect with other Parrotheads. Thanks for the blog subject, it was a fun little spot in my day!

    Cheers!
    Amy

  7. Marvin Gardens

    Vampires, Mummies, and the Holy Ghost
    These are the things that terrify me the most!

  8. Marvin Gardens

    Life is just a tire swing

  9. Marvin Gardens

    Frogman Henry used to boogy-woogy all night long
    (Saxaphones)

Leave a Reply

