This Is A Cruel, Cruel Day

I look at the calendar and it says August.

I look at the thermometer and it says October.

Mother Nature is playing a cruel, cruel joke on us Middle Tennesseans today. The air outside is downright pleasant. The humidity is almost non-existent and there is a breeze. And what makes it doubly nice is that I have the day off.

But I know that this is just a brief respite from the heat and humidity that will come back with a vengence in a day or two. We have several more weeks of air conditioning season left. Several more weeks of soup-like air and hazy skies and temperatures that make you just want to hide indoors.

A few summers ago I was in England on a pilgrimage during a legitimate heat wave. A good portion of our days were spent outdoors exploring ancient holy places like Glastonbury Abbey and the Tor of Glastonbury. It was hot. And trust me, as lovely as England is, it’s really not equipped for 90-plus heat. I don’t think there’s an ice maker on that entire island. After several days of hot weather and hot cokes and hot tea, one of our pilgrims declared that “he was done with outdoors.”

Well, I know exactly how he feels…I get that way every August. By the time the bermuda grass starts to turn brown, I too am done with outdoors. And then, just when you think it can’t get any hotter, you get a day like today. With a fresh breeze and a promise that the growing season is coming to an end and the time for the harvest is around the corner.

Of course, the calendar doesn’t lie. It is only the second week of August. I know that in another couple of days the air conditioning will be back on, the steering wheel will be too hot to touch and the heat will once again rise in waves off the asphalt.

But for now, I think I’ll go outside and enjoy this breeze while it lasts.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “This Is A Cruel, Cruel Day

  1. I’m so jealous that you have the day off! I’m stuck here inside, but at least I’ll be able to eat dinner on our deck. The weather is certainly gorgeous today.

  2. I sat on my patio last night it was fabulous. I am not cut out of southern summers … I’d take that English heatwave any day 🙂

  3. Julie Fisher

    I missplaced our sleeping porch somewhere around here. Wish I could find it in time for bed tonight.

  4. Julie Fisher

    Can I have two comments? Well, I’m taking them anyway.
    In case you want to feel much warmer suddenly, call me and let me tell you where you should have placed some commas and semi-colons in this article.
    Oh, wait a minute. You did say this was a day off for you. Well, call me Monday then.

Leave a Reply

