The Make-Believe World

Sometimes when you go to the movies, you just have to forget that you live in the real world and accept the fact that what you’re about to see makes no sense whatsoever.

That is certainly the case with Mamma Mia which I saw this afternoon. Make no mistake, this is not a good movie. It is superficial fluff that has no connection to anything that’s remotely reality-based–from the Pierce Brosnan’s “singing” to disco queen Meryl Streep to Christine Baranski as the ultimate cougar. But just because it isn’t a good movie from a technical standpoint dosen’t mean it isn’t worthy of a couple of hours of your time. Because if you go into the theater and leave your common sense in the parking lot, you will come out feeing great.

I’ve never been a big fan of Abba, the Swedish pop group whose music was the inspiration for this story. But their music is certainly familiar. I didn’t know every word to every song, but I recognized them all.

You get the feeling that this worthy cast knows that it’s all a farce and that they’re just in it for the free trip to Greece. They over act with a wink and a nod and look as if they’re having the time of their lives. And so was the audience.

Today the movie theater was more crowded than I’ve ever seen it. The overwhelming majority of people were there to see the latest Batman installment–another film that defies logic and reality. But I wonder which group of movie-goers left the theater feeling better? I’m not saying that Mamma Mia is a better movie than Batman. I’m just saying that the images in my head are of Greek isles and turquoise-blue waters.

I wonder if all those people who went to see Batman can top that?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Make-Believe World

  1. I didn’t even know what Mamma Mia! was. I’ve been wondering about it–and since I had to fork out almost fifteen dollars to see Batman in IMAX, I might not get to see many more movies any time soon.

    But now that you’ve said that about Mamma Mia, I think I might try and convince the roomies to see it.

  2. I love Abba. I admit it. Grew up on them. Stayed away from Mamma Mia because I do like Abba. Was slightly tempted – love Pierce Brosnan … but now I’m definitely out!!!

Leave a Reply

