Do Superheros Confuse You As Much As They Confuse Me?

Maybe it’s because I’m female. Maybe it’s because I’m a certain age. But I really don’t understand superheros. I never read comic books, and was never really into Saturday morning cartoons either. So this whole genre of “literature” and pop culture escapes me.

And that means that, for the most part, summer movies escape me as well.

The new Batman movie opens today and is expected to break all box office records. The Batman I remember was a campy guy in bad tights. Today’s Batman is mysterious and filled with angst or ennui or some other smart-sounding word. I bet there won’t be a POW! or BAM! anywhere in the movie.

But at least I’ve heard of Batman. The superhero that really has me confused is Hellboy. He is also derived from comics. His fictional creation has to do with Nazis and supernatural portals and mad scientists. (You can read this if you really want to know more.)

But here’s what has me so confused:  Hellboy is a GOOD guy. I thought that he was…you know…the devil. But despite his name, he is fighting the forces of evil.

From now on, I think all superheros should have names that tell you what side they’re on…like Freedom Man or Peace Girl. There’s no confusion about those names.

I was trying to decide who my personal superheros are, but I’m having trouble coming up with any. I think that’s just too much pressure to put on a person. Dolly Parton comes close. Or maybe Harper Lee–both great Southern writers.

As for summer movies, I think I’ll skip the superheros and go see Mamma Mia instead.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Do Superheros Confuse You As Much As They Confuse Me?

  1. Niece Lash

    I think Pierce Brosnan in Mamma Mia is about as good a super hero as one could ask for…Hellboy just sounds dumb.

  2. hereinfranklin

    Have you seen Mamma Mia? I’m going Sunday if you want to go with.

  3. so let’s come up with a superhero for you! I’m with you on the names.

  4. Julie Fisher

    I’ll bet “Hellboy” was thought up by some anguished mother of a two-year-old who was trying desperately to see the good in that child.

  5. hereinfranklin

    But not any mothers of two-, or three- or four-year-olds that WE know!

  6. Little Sister

    I think our Mother shielded us from super hero shows. I am like you regarding the cartoons and super hero shows. And I raised 2 kids. But I dont think we missed much!

  7. Julie Fisher

    No, Miss Cindy, I am not personally acquainted with ANY Hellboys.

  8. Mother

    Back in the old days we just had heroes like Tom Mix, Roy Rogers, Gene Autry – they captured the bad guys, got the pretty girl and rode off into the sunset on their white horses.

Leave a Reply

