Banned In China–My Subversive Blog

AN OPEN LETTER TO THE KING OF CHINA

Dear Sir,

It has come to my attention that my completely harmless little blog has been banned in your country. I understand that you may not care about my almost-daily observations, but why deprive all those hundreds of millions of Chinese citizens the enjoyment that my readers take for granted?

Now I know that they might not be interested in what I saw in traffic or the fact that I might be on Jeopardy, but who wouldn’t want to read about the woman who unknowingly had a bat in her bra for four hours? Or my perfect Parisian picnic? I mean, can you really speak for all the people of China?

This matter of my blog being banned first came to my attention when my Chinese e-mail buddy Suzy Wong (not her real name) told me that she couldn’t access my blog. This has been confirmed by a close friend of the family traveling in China right now who said that he can’t get to it either.

I only have one question for you.

WHY?

With the Olympics coming up, my understanding is that China wanted to show the world how open and accepting it is of the Western world. You should think of my blog as an educational tool. Readers will be able to practice their English. They will pick up some idomatic Southern expressions and learn much about the daily life of an American writer.

So please, I respectfully ask you to reconsider this ban. With your help, I could be the most popular American blogger in China. And I promise to give you all the credit.

If you’d like to discuss this further, just shoot me an e-mail and we’ll talk.

Best Regards,

Here In Franklin

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Banned In China–My Subversive Blog

  1. Julie Fisher

    I bet when you take over for Bill Gates, China will welcome your blog with open arms.

  2. Pingback: China » Banned In China–My Subversive Blog

Leave a Reply

