Scary Things I Saw On My Way To Work This Morning

My 20-plus mile commute is different every day. Today was notable for its snail-like pace for the first 12 or so miles. But as I crept along, I was cheered by the fact that at least I wasn’t using too much gas. When you’re going at low speeds, you really have time to notice what’s going on in the cars around you, signs that you pass and bumper stickers that people feel compelled to plaster on their cars.

A sample from this morning:

1. A “Republicans for Voldemort” bumper sticker. For those of you who are not Harry Potter fans, Voldemort is a dangerous, evil, scary wizard. You could just as easily say “Republicans for Satan.” I’m guessing that the owner of this vehicle is for Obama.

2. A girl talking on the phone with the Star Trek-y looking earpiece WHILE she was curling her eyelashes. For those of you unfamiliar with eyelash curling, it requires squeezing your lashes (but not your lid) with this metal tool.

Cushion-Grip Lash CurlerAnyone who can do this, drive and chat at the same time is clever indeed.

3. Several Bush/Cheney ’04 bumper stickers. People, we’ve had this discussion before. You won. It’s 2008 now–time to take off the bumper stickers. And I hate to say it, but the same goes for the UT 1998 National Championship license plates. Time for those to go as well.

4. Two highway patrol cars parked together on the side of the road. The troopers were standing by the cars and nodding to people as they went by. Fortunately, I was several lanes away. I’m not sure what you’re supposed to do when a trooper nods at you–pull over? Wave? Hide your eyelash curler in the glove compartment?

5. And then, the scariest thing of all wasn’t even on the interstate, but just a couple of blocks from my office. At the Shell station on West End, $4.06/gallon. One block down at the BP, $4.08.

I hope my drive home is equally entertaining!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Scary Things I Saw On My Way To Work This Morning

  1. Julie Fisher

    Cindy, you silly girl! Don’t you know that the reason they can’t remove those Bush/Cheney bumper stickers is because if they did there would be those I miss Barbara stickers underneath, and underneath those would be ALL those Reagan stickers. The real question is: why haven’t they slapped a McCain sticker on top?

  2. hereinfranklin

    You know…I don’t think I’ve seen an actual McCain sticker. I’ll be on the lookout for one though. Maybe I’ll take a pass through BMCC parking lot tomorrow…surely to be one there–on a golf cart if nothing else.

  3. Working Girl

    Is there anyway I can get a $10.99 training kit?

  4. $4.06 for gas, eh? That’s not scary. Here in metro Detroit the lowest average is around $4.25!

Leave a Reply

