Boiling Water

I know that there are some people out there who view cooking as a chore, and that’s fine. That’s why tv dinners and velveeta were invented. But I come from family that likes to cook. We share recipies, give each other cookbooks and like to try new things. It’s not brain surgery and if you try something new and it doesn’t work out, you get over it. Lesson learned.

But even those people who really don’t care for cooking, or who are intimidated by the thought of preparing a meal, can manage pasta–you boil some water, add the pasta and cook it for however long the instructions on the box tell you. Stir it around a couple of times, drain it and serve with your favorite sauce.

Pasta is the first thing most people learn to cook–it’s easy and the cost fits into a student budget. But last night I saw something that really made me believe that old saying often attributed to P.T. Barnum: There’s a sucker born every minute.

I saw a commercial for Pasta n’ More. It seems that if you invest $19.99 (plus $7.99 for shipping and handling) you too can cook perfect pasta…in your microwave. According to the web site, Pasta n’ More is perfect for:

  • ANY HOUSE
  • COLLEGE DORMITORIES
  • R.V.’S AND VACATION HOMES
  • ANYONE THAT CAN USE A MICROWAVE !!!

They left out teepees and igloos, but seems that the rest of us are perfect candidates for this kitchen equipment.

PEOPLE–I BEG YOU! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

Instead, just send me $10.00 (plus $2.00 shipping and handling) and I’ll fix you up with the best tasting pasta you ever had. Not only that, I’ll even throw in a fool-proof sauce recipe. Just e-mail me and I’ll send you my address. Once I have your cash or money order (no personal checks, please) I’ll have you cooking pasta like Giada de Laurentis and Mario Batali all rolled into one.

Trust me, pasta microwaved in a plastic bowl is not going to taste good. It’s going to taste like plastic. And all the garlic and olive oil in the world won’t help.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Boiling Water

  1. Kira

    What a terrible product! Apparently there is another pasta-type product that helps prevent you from dumping the noodles down the drain when you drain the pasta (as if that has ever happened). So whenever I’m going to drain the pasta, my husband quotes the commercial in a kid’s voice saying, “Oh no Mom! Not again!” which is what the kid says when his mom dumps the noodles down the drain.

  2. Beck

    I guess I’ll have to send back the one I ordered for you for your birthday!!! And I thought it was the perfect gift!!

  3. I wouldn’t be so crazy as to buy that product.

    But I’m definitely a terrible cook, and for me, every moment spent laboring in the kitchen is a moment of joy lost for all eternity.

    Sad, I know.

Leave a Reply

