What I Learned from the Today Show

For all my adult life, I have started my morning with The Today Show. From Bryant and Jane to Bryant and Debra, then Bryant and Katie…Katie and Matt and now Matt and Meridith. I always have to turn it on to make sure that the world didn’t destroy itself while I slept. So far, so good, but we’ve come mighty close.

What I’m trying to say is that I rely on them for news.

Now I know that during a two-hour show you’re going to get some fluff. And now that summer is here, the show has been doing a series on hazards around the home. And guess what I learned a couple of days ago????

LAWNMOWERS ARE DANGEROUS!

Oh my goodness! It never even occurred to me that the loud, gas-burning combustion engine that mows down grass with a super sharp metal blade might be dangerous. I learned that if I’m not careful when I’m near a lawnmower I could lose a toe, a finger…maybe even an entire foot or hand.

I’m so glad I saw this because now I know that I should wear shoes when I’m cutting the grass. And I should never, ever put my hand near the blade. For instance, if the mower stops because the grass is thick and clumpy, I should not reach under the mover and clear the grass from the blade.

Who knew!

In another feature this week, I learned that GRILLS ARE DANGEROUS TOO! Also, that CHILDREN SHOULD NOT BE UNSUPERVISED AROUND SWIMMING POOLS!

Of course, I’m being just a touch sarcastic here. Is there really anyone out there who doesn’t know the inherent dangers of lawnmowers or grills? Perhaps these are the same people who were surprised to learn that Mexican food is fattening or that falling off a ladder could cause harm.

It’s disheartening to know that some people out there probably learned something from these stories on the Today Show. These are the same people who will hold onto a firecracker just a little too long Friday night. The people whose last words before waking up in a body cast in the hospital are “hey, watch this.”

All that being said, I’ll still tune in every morning to the Today Show. And I’ll be extra careful around the lawnmower, the grill, the pool and the ladder.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

