Southern Style

I saw a commercial the other day for the new “Southern style chicken sandwich” at McDonald’s. I’m always a little leary of anything that promotes itself as Southern…especially when it comes from a company whose roots are about as Southern at General Grant’s. Now I have nothing against McDonald’s and personally believe that the Egg McMuffin is one of the greatest food inventions of all time. But I’m just not convinced that this sandwich is worth my money.

Here are the ingredients of the sandwich, straight from the McDonald’s web site:

Southern Style Crispy Chicken Sandwich: Southern Style Crispy Chicken Breast Filet, Regular Bun, Pickle Slices, Liquid Margarine

Let’s take a closer look:

To begin–the chicken itself. During my life spent in the South, fried chicken comes with bones–it’s not fileted. You can bet anything filets and fried is going to be fish.

Next–a “regular bun.” I don’t know what they mean by regular. Regular meaning without sesame seeds? Regular in size? Not too small. Not too big. But jussssssssssssssst regular? I’m thinking that regular might mean leftover from 1997.

Third–pickle slices. Please, what kind of pickle? This is important. Dill? Bread and butter? Watermelon rind? You’d think a company as big as McDonald’s would understand that people want to know what kind of pickle they’re fixing to eat.

Last–liquid margarine. This is just wrong. If there is anything is the world that screams not Southern it’s butter on a sandwich. My New York state-born mother-in-law still has to be reminded not to put butter on our sandwiches. I once spent a week in England trying to scrape butter off of every sandwich I was given. I never even knew that some people put butter on sandwiches until I was married.

If McDonald’s wanted their sandwich to be Southern, they would’ve put mayonnaise on it. Hellmans or homemade. That’s it. Nothing else.

And if you’ve never tried homemade mayonnaise, you should. If you have a food processor, you can make it in seconds. Here’s how:

In the food processor, add one egg, juice from about half a lemon, a pinch of kosher salt, some paprika and a little dry mustard. Whiz that up and with the motor running, slowly add one cup of canola oil. By the time you have the oil added, you have mayo. Taste it and see what’s missing. I usually need more lemon juice and salt. I also like to add red pepper. Just try it…it will make everything taste better.

Especially a chicken sandwich.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Southern Style

  1. Liquid margarine is wrong. Absolutely. That’s just weird, to boot.

    Butter on sandwiches comes from the days when mayonnaise was more likely to go bad. It’s probably a generational thing.

  2. Little Sister

    I have never ever heard of anyone putting butter on a sandwich. Thats just nasty sounding. All my years in restaurants, I never had anyone ask for it. Or either I wasn’t listening. Thanks for the recipe…I love homemade mayo!!!

  3. Cindy…you are truly one of the funniest people I know. There are few things I enjoy as much as a Cindy Thomsen rant.

    Thanks for writing.

  4. hereinfranklin

    You’re welcome! Just using my gifts. πŸ™‚

  5. Mother

    Cindy grew up on “home made mayonnaise. She told me in later life -“I always thought we were poor because we always had home made mayonnaise.” Try it – you will love it.

  6. Julie Fisher

    Well, I remember thinking my mother just plain couldn’t cook very well because none of her cookies looked as perfect as store-bought ones–like Oreos and such. I really felt sorry for her.

  7. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Violet

  8. Luna_the_cat

    I grew up in Colorado but live in Scotland now, and have had multiple, erm…*discussions*…with my husband about the disgusting horribleness that is butter on sandwiches (endemic over here), and the loveliness of fresh mayo. It’s nice to see evidence that other people in the world do understand this. Sometimes I feel surrounded by heathens. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

