Can I Go Back Now?

Florida is home to some pretty swanky resorts, and Islamorada–on Matecumbe Key–is home to one of the very swankiest. At the Checca Lodge you can be swathed in luxury with minions ready to fulfill your every whim. You can wine. You can dine. You can be massaged, mani-ed and pedi-ed. You can revel in the privacy of the 27-acre grounds, gated to keep the riff raff out.

We just got back from Islamorada. And I guess you could best describe our lodgings as the anti-Cheeca.

Many of the plastic chairs had broken slats. One of our windows had to be propped open with a shoe. The refrigerator in our room made strange clicking noises all night long.

But when this is the view from your private deck, a noisy refrigerator doesn’t really matter.

We stayed at a funky old place called the Sands of Islamorada. We had a queen-size bed, a little kitchen and a bathroom.

And a private patio.

The building was perpendicular to the water, so there were only two waterfront units. That’s ours on the bottom. There was a constant breeze and an ever-changing view.

Here’s sunrise:

I’m not really an ocean person. If I had to choose between ocean or mountains, I’d take mountains every time. I like changing seasons, fireplaces and thick socks. But in January–when spring is months away from Middle Tennessee–the Keys are hard to beat.

Travel is about change–change of scenery, change of habit, change of routine. We only had a few days there, but they were worth their weight in gold.

This isn’t the first time I’ve written about the Keys.

I hope it isn’t the last.

Oh–the guy in the header visited us one day and then scurried up a nearby palm. Not sure if he ever came down.

11 Comments

Filed under Travel

11 responses to “Can I Go Back Now?

  1. Looks like my kind of place. Was it cheap?

  2. Just looking at that view makes me feel more peaceful already.

  3. i think i’d pick that spot over the resort… there is something restorative about warm sand and salt water. have never been to the Keys, but i obviously need to take care of that!

  4. We may agree on the cat thing but you can have your mountains. Plop me near clear, blue water with a good book and I’ll purr all day long. Boy, could I use a break.

  5. Hey Pat–Thanks for stopping by and for commenting. I guess cheap is relative. But no…I don’t think you could classify our room as cheap. Others, without the view, were probably $50-$75 less per night.
    PG–Total relaxation. So great.
    DF–I think you’d really like the Keys. I’ll meet you there this time next year!
    UB–I didn’t even mention the color of the water. Amazingly clear and blue–like a Siamese cat’s eyes. But I do love the mountains. Hope you get that break soon.

  6. Julie

    Too bad you didn’t take your cat with you. From what I remember from a previous blog about some of the gifts you have received from your cat, that “guy in the header” could have been yours forever, bronzed and placed on the mantle.

  7. The guy in the header looks like he would speak with a funny accent.

    x

  8. Windows propped open with shoes: isn’t this what one would call charming? I’m envious. What I desire a the moment is snow. And to be in the mountains. But the Keys look just as seductive.

    Travel is about change, isn’t it? What a beautiful change, HIF! ;)

  9. Just want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity for your post is just great and i can
    think you are knowledgeable on this subject. Well together with your permission let me to snatch
    your feed to keep up to date with approaching post. Thank you a million and please continue the gratifying
    work.

  10. Polti is just on our expensive side, though. Given that this meaning has impressive reactivity properties, when out is published into these soil, the water or air, toluene
    disappears to a real reasonable severity.Liquid Rezepte

  11. Wow, marvelous blog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running a
    blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The total glance of your site is great,
    as neatly as the content!

Leave a Reply

