Carol of the Bells

Most people I know go to church on Christmas Eve. Our tiny historic church has 3 services–each guaranteed to be overflowing. Instead of physically going to church on December 24, we listen to the Lessons and Carols broadcast by BBC from Kings College in Cambridge.

Tonight I took a walk around the neighborhood. “Carol of the Bells” by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir came on the iPod. I put it on repeat and listened for the entire walk. I don’t know the first thing about music, but I directed the choir on my walk. I’m sure my gesticulations would’ve made no sense to the choir, but they felt good to me.

A few days ago, an atheist friend told me that she was sorry that Christmas had been taken over by Christians. I had nothing to say to that.

Christmas morning is when we go to church. There’s not nearly as many people. Instead of tired children, everyone will be filled with the joy of the season. It’s a happy service.

Then we’ll make the family rounds…home by 3 or 4 to relax and read by the fire.

Merry Christmas to you all. Thanks for reading and best wishes for an extraordinary new year.

3 Comments

Filed under At Home

3 responses to “Carol of the Bells

  1. My mother insists on going to the midnight service. She never insists anyone goes with her. We take turns accompanying her … I am just too tired by that time! All the best to you, dear Franklin, in 2012. Maybe we will meet!

  2. I’m fairly sure you’re having a nice Christmas because you take it in the right spirit. All the same, have a lovely Christmas holiday, and all the best for the New Year.

  3. Ellie–I certainly hope so!
    PG–I did have a nice Christmas–the lights and tree are still up. I hope all is well in Spain.

Leave a Reply

