Making the Dressing

For the past several years, I’ve had my family over for Thanksgiving. I love having Thanksgiving at my house. Thanksgiving is at the beginning of the eating, drinking, dressing up extravaganza known as “the holidays.” At Thanksgiving, people aren’t burned out with parties.

Expectations are still possible.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Christmas. But Christmas comes with lots of baggage–all wrapped up with bows and ribbons–but baggage, nonetheless.

I’ve been shopping for the big day for a while now. I thought I was done after my first grocery store visit today. But I forgot a couple of needed items and now I can say that my dinner came from 6 different purveyors of food and drink.

And I’m only making three items–the turkey, dressing and a green veg: asparagus with saffron aioli.

Which all brings me to tomorrow. It’s dressing day.

I love making dressing.

Not stuffing. I don’t put anything in my turkey except herbs, onion and lemon.

I make dressing.

Cornbread. Toasted white bread. Sausage. Sauteed onion and celery. Pecans. Chicken stock. Herbs.

People say they like it. I hope so.

I only make it once a year, but it’s my favorite thing to make, ever.

So on Thursday 17 people will gather at my house. They’ll bring green beans, squash, hummingbird cake and apple pie, cranberry salad, rolls and wine.

My sister is in charge of gravy and everyone will help along the way.

The table still needs to be set and the silver needs to be polished.

But first, I have to make the dressing.

12 Comments

Filed under At Home

12 responses to “Making the Dressing

  1. Lashlee

    It’s my favorite part of Thanksgiving.

  2. oh, i LOVE dressing – and this sounds scrumptious!

    i have a gathering of ‘strays’. an evening colletion of people who:
    a) like their families but can’t get ther
    b) don’t like their families and are avoiding
    c) spent the day with their families and need to drink

    we make pizzas. simple and fun. and i stock the bar.

    when people ask “What can i bring?” i’ve learned that the best response is “Bring that thing that you LOVE to make!” it doesn’t matter what it is – we shall eat it!

    i would adore your dressing, i have no doubt. enjoy the making. it is – by far – the best part. well… next to the ‘sharing’ bit…

  3. Wish I could fly out and have dinner at your table. Or daisyfae’s. I’m off to my in-laws. The Irish are suburb writers and actors but they really should stay the hell out of the kitchen. It’ll be another dried out, overcooked turkey with bland bread stuffing. I can say these things freely because I know my wife doesn’t read blogs.

  4. That dressing sounds heavenly. I recall my grandma’s dressing. Oyster dressing, I think she called it. Never really knew what was in it, but I ate it and ate and ate it and then watched the Cowboys. Lovely memories . . .

    Enjoy your day, my friend. Good to read you again, after a long hiatus on my part. Peace . . .

  5. Lash–So excited to see everyone tomorrow!
    DF–Your gathering sounds great–how nice of you to open your home to all those people. Sounds like a great tradition.I’m trying to be better about writing. Thanks for visiting. I know that oyster dressing is popular in some areas, but I’ve never had it. Hope you have a great holiday.

  6. Niece Whit

    I went to Publix to buy the ingredients for my green bean casserole. I left with ingredients for dressing, sweet potato casserole, a peach/pair cobbler I saw on the Food Network, and the beans. Don’t worry I am only bringing the casserole! :) Can’t wait for some turkey and that yummmmy dressing, Tante!

  7. So my reply above got all buggered up–it combined DF’s and Brian’s and left out UB’s completely.
    UB–I laughed that you wrote “suburb” for “superb,” Coming from you, I’d say that’s about as Freudian as it gets! I hope it’s better this year. If not, the door is always open here.

  8. Sparky

    That sounds wonderful. I’d fill up on just that. I love the idea of pizza and bring what you love, too daisyfae. I come from Irish background and the food was pretty bland but my Grandmother, Delia, made a potato and sausage stuffigng for duck that was wonderful. Lots of sage too. Hope you all had a great day. I ate at a restaurant with a friend, the proceeds going to a shelter nearby.

  9. I don’t understand – dressing to me speaks of oil and vinegar and salads. It obviously means something very different on Thanksgiving day. Hope you had a nice time, and someone offered to help with the washing up (actually, I’m sure you’ve got a dishwasher).

  10. Sparky–Hello–thanks for stopping by and for commenting. I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving.Sounds like your heart was certainly in the right place.
    PG–I’m not sure how we came to call it dressing. When it’s cooked inside the bird, it’s called stuffing. Husband is great at cleaning up and brother-in-law does it if husband is traveling. And yes, we do have a dishwasher, but I could’ve used two or three.

  11. Tulip

    My family loves dressing; my late mother-in-law left out the sausage but added poultry seasoning; her dressing was fabulous. The big debate in my family is eggs or no eggs in the dressing. Newly married daughter spent Thanksgiving in the North… said the dressing was not as good (I did warn her about “stuffing”). And I don’t think they’re Irish. Got to love the South and this great Eating Holiday. I guess we need to shore up for Christmas!

  12. Katie

    I don’t tend to like dressing, but this sounds SO good. Maybe I’ll be lucky enough to get a sample next year. :)

Leave a Reply

